Crossfit Fitness Challenge

For most of my life I have been in good shape and some of it I was in top notch shape but the last 5 year have been something of a black hole. Since I got pregnant with my first, I have not done much to really shake my body into its previous glory. I know that my body won’t every look like it did before but it can better than it is now and healthier. I discovered that I collect fat in my belly and this can be the worst kind of fat to collect. Plus I’m only getting older and any fat I have now, I will just add too.

A few weeks ago I saw a post on facebook. One of those paid for ads. It was a 6 week fitness challenge through Crossfit SW Portland. I use to be in the military and I thought that the workout might work for me and I need a kick in the ass. So I went for the interview. I wanted to checkout the place and the people who run it to see if it was a fit. I’m not one to click on those facebook ads but it was the right thing at the right time.

The program is 6 weeks long and includes 3 workouts a week that are usually 1.5hrs long. It also includes nutrition coaching and they ask you to follow a Whole30 meal plan for the 6 weeks. Its an all women group and I love that it is a set group of people who I’m getting to know. The program also has a built in culture of encouragement which is what I need at the moment. It costs $250, with a chance for one person to win $200 at the end.

This has been a huge change for me. I invested money into myself which I rarely do. I have set time that I have to be gone each week and my family has to accommodate. I’m working out on a regular schedule and the biggest change is how I have changed my eating habits. I’m not perfect but I am following the whole30 meal plan and keeping track of what I’m eatting. I’ve cut out sugar, dairy, bread, alcohol, and legumes. I’ve stopped drinking coffee in the morning, which is important because I put too much sugar in it. I’m not sure what foods upset my stomach but since switching I already feel better.

The first week I felt bad, sore muscles, headaches but now at the end of week 2, I’m feeling stronger. So here are my measurements from the very first day.

  • Neck                 13 in
  • Stomach          35 in
  • Right Arm       13 in
  • Left Arm         13.25 in
  • Right Leg         25 in
  • Left Leg           24.5 in
  • Hips                 41.75 in
  • Weight            134 lb
  • Height             4 ft 11 in

The 6 weeks are done on June 3rd and I will give my final update and how well it worked. I can already tell that I am creating better habits and I hope to reach my goal of loosing 20lbs by the end of 2017. I’ll update before the end and put up my favorite meals so far and meal prep.

How are you taking care of yourself? How are you reaching your goals?

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

